California Legislature Votes Increase Minimum Wage To $15 By 2022
On March 31st, the California Legislature passed a measure that would raise the state’s minimum wage to $15 by 2022. The bill, which Governor Jerry Brown is expected to sign, would would increase the California minimum wage from the current $10.00 to $10.50 on Jan. 1, 2017, then to $11.00 the following year, followed by $1.00 annual increases until 2022.
Businesses with fewer than 26 employees would get an additional year to comply, and Governor Brown and his successors could delay the increases by one year in the case of an economic downturn. Assuming no delays, California’s minimum wage would continue to increase based on inflation starting in 2024.
The legislative action makes California the first state to move to increase its minimum wage to $15.00 per hour, though according to the LA Times, New York is considering a similar measure. Some cities, including Los Angeles, Seattle, NYC and San Francisco have already adopted measures increasing their minimum wages to that level over the next several years.
The increases will also have an impact on some employees who are exempt from overtime rules. For example, teachers and other workers who are not eligible for overtime must be paid at least double the minimum wage.
The Orange County based Law Offices of Corbett H. Williams represents employees in discrimination, harassment, retaliation, wrongful termination, wage & hour and other employment matters. If you think you have a claim, contact us today at 949-679-9909 or use the contact form below and we will respond promptly.